Summit Racing Series ET Bracket Champions Crowned Over the Weekend

GAINESVILLE, Fla.—Over the weekend, six racers were crowned class champions for the Gainesville Raceway Summit Racing Bracket Series. The points season consisted of 10 races with 25 points for signing up early, 20 points for appearing in each race, and a racers two lowest races being dropped.

In the super pro category, Sherby Powell took the top spot with 437 points on the season. Powell’s 20 bonus points for appearing in all 10 races proved to be the difference, taking the season crown by eight points. J. Kelly Hicks was runner-up and Bart Treadwell rounded out the top-three.

John Rollins earned the 2019 pro title after a pair of race victories during the season. He defeated the field by 30 points with a total of 530, including the all race bonus. Jason Rollins was runner-up while Mel Ryskie finished third.

Taking the sportsman crown was Robert Simpson with 471 points. He earned a race victory on July second and competed in each of the 10 races in 2019 to seal the season championship. Bart Pangilian finished as the runner-up while Chris Parisi rounded out the top-three.

Scott Delong was the top finisher in 2019 for the super pro bike class. He earned the race victory in each of the last four races of the season to capture the season crown. Finishing behind Delong was Tim Hunt in second and Billy Balcom in third.

Balcom went on to capture the pro bike title by a narrow margin. He defeated Delong in the category by eight points with a total of 432. His runner up finish in the final weekend helped seal the 2019 crown. Billy Barton finished third in the season standings.

Brittany Schmidt was the lone junior dragster to compete in each of the season’s seven junior races totaling 289 points. She picked up the win in back-to-back races on September 7 and 21. She topped Maverick Palmatier in the season standings by 39 points while Allison Harbin finished third.